Parliamentary Pledge

Parliamentary Pledge for the Treaty

on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

We, the undersigned parliamentarians, warmly welcome the adoption of the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons on 7 July 2017 as a significant step towards the realization of a nuclear-weapon-free world.

We share the deep concern expressed in the preamble about the catastrophic humanitarian consequences that would result from any use of nuclear weapons and we recognize the consequent need to eliminate these inhumane and abhorrent weapons.

As parliamentarians, we pledge to work for the signature and ratification of this landmark treaty by our respective countries, as we consider the abolition of nuclear weapons to be a global public good of the highest order and an essential step to promote the security and well-being of all peoples.

Welsh politicians who have already signed this appeal:

Members of the Senedd: Rhys ab Owen MS, Mick Antoniw MS, Mabon ap Gwynfor MS, Rhun ap Iorwerth MS, Jayne Bryant MS, Cefin Campbell MS, Jane Dodds MS, Luke Fletcher MS, Heledd Fychan MS, John Griffiths MS, Peredur Owen Griffiths MS, Llyr Gruffydd MS, Siân Gwenllian MS, Mike Hedges MS, Delyth Jewell MS, Elin Jones MS, Adam Price MS, Jenny Rathbone MS, David Rees MS, Carolyn Thomas MS, Sioned Williams MS

Members of Parliament: Jonathan Edwards MP, Ruth Jones MP, Ben Lake MP, Liz Saville Roberts MP, Jo Stevens MP, Hywel Williams MP, Beth Winter MP

Have all your elected representatives signed ?

If not, why not ask them to sign ?

All you’d need to do is write a brief message in your own words asking them to sign, attaching the bilingual ICAN pledge, and including your name and address (so that they know that the message comes from a constituent).

You can find the email addresses (or real addresses) of your

Members of the Senedd: here

Members of Parliament: here

The list of all the politicians who have signed the ICAN Parliamentarian Pledge is available here

Former Signatories: Dai Lloyd MS, Carwyn Jones MS, Helen Mary Jones MS, Neil McEvoy MS, Bethan Sayed MS, Rhodri Glyn Thomas MS, Leanne Wood MS; Jane Dodds MP, Paul Flynn MP; Jill Evans MEP, Derek Vaughan MEP